until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


Jajovski beats Siggy to GT Pro Championship win

by Matt Beer
3 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Erhan Jajovski won the first season of the GT Pro Series, beating Kevin Siggy who finished the championship as the runner up.

Jajovski had an 18 point championship lead over Siggy heading into the final round, held at the Circuit de la Sarthe.

Rudy van Buren was third in standings and trailed Jajovski by 32 points, but didn’t take part in the final round.

Siggy’s attempt to take the championship lead away from Jajovski started strong as he took pole position for the first round with Jajovski qualifying in 4th.

After one lap the championship leader fell backwards to seventh place whilst Siggy maintained the race lead.

Arne Schoonvliet started the race in second but lost the positon to Peyo Peev.

Schoonvliet re-overtook Peev later on in the 15-minute long race, but Peev retired as he misjudged the number of laps long the race would be and under-fueled his car.

That allowed Nikodem Wisniewski to finish the first race in third, with Jajovski recovering from his poor opening lap to pass the chequered flag in fourth.

Siggy gained points over Jajovski but factoring in that drivers drop their lowest points scoring round from the championship, Jajovski only had to finish inside the top eight to guarantee his championship win.

Siggy started the main race three positions behind Jajovski courtesy of the reversed top 10 from the sprint race.

However Siggy gained two places off the start whilst Jajovski dropped two places, meaning Siggy was running in eighth and Jajovski ninth.

The big mover off the start was Wisniewski as he quickly moved ahead of his Williams Esports team mate Kuba Brzezinski and it wasn’t long into the 45 minute race that they were running line astern and in third and fourth.

Both Williams Esports drivers worked together, bump drafting down the Mulsanne straight, eventually catching up and passing the front to of Joonas Raivio and pole sitter Yuri Kasdorp.

Jajovksi GT Pro Series 2020

A drive-through penalty carried over from the previous round meant Brzezinski wasn’t able to maintain second place for the rest of the race, but Wisniewski kept first and won the final race of the GT Pro Series.

Raivio and Kasdorp eventually came under threat from the pack of cars lead by Siggy and Schoonvliet who kept trading fifth and sixth positions between each other.

Siggy briefly overtook Raivio for second, but a move around the outside of Porsche Curve by Raivio meant he took the position back.

Siggy therefore finished the main race in third, with championship rival Jajovski crossing the finish line in fourth after overtaking Kasdorp and Schoonvliet, the latter of whom hit the side of Siggy’s car whilst battling for fourth and then then lost control of the car and spun.

Jajovski earns €3000 for winning the championship, with Kevin Siggy netting €1500 for finishing as the runner up.

The second season of the GT Pro Series, run on rFactor 2, will start in August.

Before then the feeder championship, the GT Challenge Series, holds its final race next week.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks