Tin-top star Plato enters The Race Legends Trophy

by Jack Benyon
1 min read

Two-time British Touring Car champion Jason Plato is the latest addition to the Legends Trophy grid ahead of the sixth event in The Race All-Star Series – Fully Charged by ROKiT Phones.

Plato won his titles with Vauxhall in 2001 and Chevrolet in 2010, and has contested 21 BTCC campaigns since his 1997 debut – claiming at least a single race win in all but one of them.

He holds the most BTCC race wins in history at 98, and was due to compete for the Power Maxed Racing team again in 2020 driving a Vauxhall Astra, alongside the team’s new addition, Mat Jackson.

Plato had a simulator installed earlier this week, and will join the Legends Trophy grid for a pair of Lime Rock Park races in McLaren M23s from the 1970s.

He will be the second driver making his Legends Trophy debut this weekend, with 2003 World Rally champion Petter Solberg confirmed as a new addition to the 23-car grid yesterday.

Saturday’s event will again feature three Formula 1 world champions in Emerson Fittipaldi, Jacques Villeneuve and Jenson Button – who is among the previous Legends Trophy Race winners.

Button and Emanuele Pirro shared the victories last weekend, while Barrichello and Jan Magnussen came out victorious the weekend before.

IndyCar legend Dario Franchitti won the inaugural race, and Indianapolis 500 winners Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves, Dario Franchitti, Tony Kanaan and Gil de Ferran all join the Legends grid alongside him.

The Legends Trophy is the sister event to The Race All-Star Cup – Fully Charged by ROKiT Phones.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks