Formula 1

Video: The F1 rule contradiction that saved Alonso’s podium

by Jack Cozens
1 min read

Fernando Alonso literally had the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix third-place trophy pulled out of his hands as he stepped off the podium, thanks to a penalty actually incurred early in the race, only to then have it given back to him again hours later.

Confused? That’s absolutely understandable.

Here’s our video guide to why there was such a delay in awarding Alonso’s penalty in the first place, and the strange F1 rule contradiction that meant the penalty was later annulled.

 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks