until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


Van Buren dominates All-Star heat 2 ahead of Vandoorne

by Matt Beer
2 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Inaugural World’s Fastest Gamer winner Rudy van Buren dominated heat two of the second The Race All-Star Esports Battle.

Now Mahindra’s Formula E simulator driver, van Buren pulled away throughout the 10-lap race using Indy Pro 2000 cars on the Indianapolis road course to beat nearest rival Stoffel Vandoorne by five seconds.

The top four positions were settled once a chaotic first corner was out of the way, with Vandoorne staying clear of Philipp Eng and Nicki Thiim throughout.

Ed Jones looked set for fifth after winning a mid-race dice with Charlie Eastwood, only for Jones to retire at the start of the final lap.

By that time Eastwood had tumbled down the order following a first-corner clash with Maximilian Gunther that left Eastwood spinning.

He was then collected by Tony Kanaan, who had surged through from the back of the grid to ninth in the early laps.

Gunther escaped with minimal delay and was able to pick up fifth when Jones dropped out, with Esteban Gutierrez the first of those who will have to go into the later Last Chance Qualifying race.

Former Formula 1 driver Nico Hulkenberg qualified 14th for his Esports debut but was caught up in the early incidents and was the final finisher.

Tom Dillmann qualified on the front row, only to tumble down the order in the first-corner clashes. He fought back to ninth.

Juan Pablo Montoya was also involved in a number of incidents and finished back in 11th.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks