until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Formula 1

Hamilton strikes back in second Spanish GP practice

by Matt Beer
2 min read

The Mercedes Formula 1 team’s 1-2 formation remained in second Spanish Grand Prix practice, with Lewis Hamilton ahead this time.

After Valtteri Bottas topped the morning session, this time Hamilton was quickest both in the early runs on harder compounds and then by 0.287s when they went for qualifying simulations on softs.

Bottas enlivened a muted second half of the session slightly by running wide through the gravel at the right-hander leading towards the final chicane late on, without major consequences.

Mercedes’ advantage over the rest was trimmed very slightly, with Max Verstappen 0.821s off Hamilton in third for Red Bull.

There were some notable surprises near the front of the ‘class B’ pack, as Daniel Ricciardo put Renault fourth and Romain Grosjean built on Haas’s promising morning with a startling fifth place for the struggling team.

But Grosjean’s day ended worryingly as he slowed abruptly with a loss of power in the closing minutes.

Charles Leclerc was sixth for Ferrari, but 1.264s off the pace. Team-mate Sebastian Vettel was once again outside the top 10, though he was only two and a half tenths off Leclerc despite being back in 12th.

That was one place ahead of Alex Albon, who had another difficult session in the second Red Bull.

Carlos Sainz Jr put McLaren seventh ahead of the two Racing Points and Pierre Gasly’s AlphaTauri. Sainz was warned over the radio about his casual use of the old faster circuit layout at the final corners on in-laps after taking to the original track.

Practice 2 Results

Pos Name Car Best Time Gap Leader
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m16.883s
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m17.17s +0.287s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda 1m17.704s +0.821s
4 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1m17.868s +0.985s
5 Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 1m18.133s +1.25s
6 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1m18.147s +1.264s
7 Carlos Sainz McLaren-Renault 1m18.214s +1.331s
8 Sergio Pérez Racing Point-Mercedes 1m18.293s +1.41s
9 Esteban Ocon Renault 1m18.303s +1.42s
10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda 1m18.312s +1.429s
11 Lance Stroll Racing Point-Mercedes 1m18.357s +1.474s
12 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m18.404s +1.521s
13 Alex Albon Red Bull-Honda 1m18.491s +1.608s
14 Lando Norris McLaren-Renault 1m18.506s +1.623s
15 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri-Honda 1m18.642s +1.759s
16 Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 1m18.761s +1.878s
17 Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m18.9s +2.017s
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari 1m18.964s +2.081s
19 Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes 1m19.155s +2.272s
20 George Russell Williams-Mercedes 1m19.391s +2.508s
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks