until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


Dominant Martin beats Binder to win Le Mans MotoGP sprint

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
4 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Pramac Ducati MotoGP rider Jorge Martin dominated the French Grand Prix sprint at Le Mans.

It marked Martin’s first triumph in a MotoGP race since his rookie season in 2021, albeit a sprint victory doesn’t enter the record books as a full-on grand prix triumph.

A bold and forceful entry on the outside line into the Dunlop chicane on the opening lap allowed Martin to turn fifth on the grid into an immediate second place behind poleman Pecco Bagnaia, and he found himself in prime position to win the sprint as Bagnaia struggled.


Shadowing the championship leader in the early going, Martin sent it down Bagnaia’s inside into the Dunlop chicane on the fourth lap of 13, and pulled out an eighth-tenths lead over the rest of the lap.

That lead continued to grow as Bagnaia came under immediate pressure from Honda’s Marc Marquez and KTM’s Brad Binder, who had elevated himself into fourth place with a ruthless move on Luca Marini into Garage Vert.

And when Marquez sent it down the inside of Bagnaia into Dunlop, with Bagnaia sticking to the outside line and taking Marquez wide through the second part of the chicane, Binder got past both in one fell swoop and proceeded to break away.

Marquez got the move done on Bagnaia at the same place a lap later, with Marini also taking advantage to move up to fourth – but Bagnaia then suddenly recovered his pace, swiftly repassing Marini and then sizing up Marquez for a counter-attack.

He eventually took care of the Honda on the brakes into Turn 1, going on to finish eight tenths behind Binder, who himself was 1.8s behind Martin at the chequered flag.


Binder is now Bagnaia’s closest rival in the standings, trailing him by 23 points.

Marini overtook Marquez for fourth place into the Dunlop chicane on the third-to-last lap, and fought him off over the final lap. Marquez therefore settled for fifth in the first race outing of the Kalex-built RC213V chassis.

Pramac Ducati’s Johann Zarco was the sole French rider finishing in the points and looked like he might attack Marquez late on, too, but a mistake forced him to settle for sixth.

VR46 Ducati’s Marco Bezzecchi and Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro were roughing each other up in heated battle midway through the race, which neither seemed to particularly benefit from – the pair ending up seventh and eighth.

Espargaro was briefly placed under investigation after contact with Alex Marquez through Chemin aux Boeufs that effectively took the latter out of points contention. However, the stewards swiftly declared that no further action would be taken.

The final point went to Aprilia’s Maverick Vinales, his race effectively undone by losing five positions in the early stages.

Two injury stand-ins completed the finishers, with Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) 16th on his return ahead of Lorenzo Savadori (RNF Aprilia).

There were three crashes for KTM RC16s, the most costly one coming as Jack Miller slid off at the Museum corner while settling into third place early on. Also falling were the Gas Gas-branded Tech3 team-mate duo of Augusto Fernandez and Jonas Folger.

The only non-KTM to hit the deck was the Yamaha of Fabio Quartararo, down at Chemin aux Boeufs from eighth place.

Sprint Qualifying Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Best Time
1 Jorge Martin Prima Pramac Racing Ducati 1m31.549s
2 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +1.84s 1m31.605s
3 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +2.632s 1m31.607s
4 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +3.418s 1m31.94s
5 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda +3.541s 1m31.855s
6 Johann Zarco Prima Pramac Racing Ducati +4.483s 1m31.617s
7 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +5.224s 1m31.343s
8 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Aprilia +6.359s 1m31.62s
9 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing Aprilia +8.336s 1m31.876s
10 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +9.439s 1m32.031s
11 Alex Rins LCR Honda CASTROL Honda +12.388s 1m32.366s
12 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +14.125s 1m32.534s
13 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +15.121s 1m32.42s
14 Joan Mir Repsol Honda Team Honda +15.383s 1m32.694s
15 Alex Marquez Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +15.591s 1m31.797s
16 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Team Ducati +19.415s 1m32.954s
17 Lorenzo Savadori CryptoDATA RNF MotoGP Team Aprilia +26.992s 1m33.033s
Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m31.771s
Jonas Folger GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3 KTM 1m33.266s
Augusto Fernandez GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3 KTM 1m32.391s
Jack Miller Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 0s
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks