until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


Aprilia scores Friday 1-2 at Jerez, Bagnaia and Bezzecchi to Q1

3 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

The factory Aprilias set the pace in Friday’s MotoGP running at Jerez, with Aleix Espargaro getting the better of team-mate Maverick Vinales.

Key moments:

> Espargaro fastest for Aprilia

> Points leader Bezzecchi hit with engine issue

> Three Hondas crash

> Bezzecchi joined in Q1 by Bagnaia, Rins, Yamaha pair

Any threat of thunderstorms failed to materialise come the second session of the weekend, but the heat didn’t make conditions any easier.

The cloud cover from Friday morning’s FP1 had all but disappeared for the afternoon outing – meaning the sun could beat down onto the asphalt and make conditions rather tricky for the riders.

And both Aprilias turned the heat up at the end of the session, with Espargaro and Vinales separated by just 0.002s to finish 1-2.

Following his FP1 heroics, KTM wildcard Dani Pedrosa did enough to end the day third ahead of Pramac Ducati’s Jorge Martin – who like Pedrosa had set his fastest time in FP1.

KTM’s Jack Miller got the better of Johann Zarco and RNF Aprilia’s Miguel Oliveira at the end to place third in FP2 and fifth overall.

Alex Marquez (Gresini Ducati) put in a lap towards the end which put him eighth ahead of former LCR Honda team-mate Takaaki Nakagami, whose FP1 time was enough to seal a Q2 spot.

Luca Marini rounded out the riders who made it through to Q2 following his 1m37.053s set in FP1.

Championship leader Marco Bezzecchi, Marini’s team-mate, suffered from engine troubles on his VR46 Ducati and could only finish 12th in the combined classification.

Pecco Bagnaia was struggling with the front-end of his works Ducati around the Jerez track and will likewise face Q1 on Saturday after failing to break into the top 10.

It was a dire day for Bagnaia’s main 2022 rival Fabio Quartararo, with neither of the Yamahas really troubling the top 10 in the end.

Iker Lecuona was the first faller of the MotoGP weekend at Turn 13 shortly into FP2, with Marc Marquez’s replacement for the weekend eventually ending the session 24th.

The Spaniard had brought out the red flag after his RC213V damaged the air fence.

The stand-in Repsol Honda rider was quickly followed by team-mate Joan Mir, who suffered a fall at Turn 6 as Alex Rins also dropped his LCR Honda at the same corner with five minutes remaining.

Meanwhile, injury returnee Enea Bastianini looked uncomfortable on his factory Ducati as he continued to nurse his broken shoulder back to full strength and ended the day 21st in the combined times.

Practice 2 Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Next Gap Leader Best Time
1 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Aprilia 1m36.708s
2 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.002s +0.002s 1m36.71s
3 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.125s +0.127s 1m36.835s
4 Johann Zarco Prima Pramac Racing Ducati +0.061s +0.188s 1m36.896s
5 Miguel Oliveira CryptoDATA RNF MotoGP Team Aprilia +0.06s +0.248s 1m36.956s
6 Alex Marquez Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.085s +0.333s 1m37.041s
7 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.133s +0.466s 1m37.174s
8 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.059s +0.525s 1m37.233s
9 Dani Pedrosa Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.018s +0.543s 1m37.251s
10 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.025s +0.568s 1m37.276s
11 Jorge Martin Prima Pramac Racing Ducati +0.03s +0.598s 1m37.306s
12 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.084s +0.682s 1m37.39s
13 Raul Fernandez CryptoDATA RNF MotoGP Team Aprilia +0.013s +0.695s 1m37.403s
14 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +0.08s +0.775s 1m37.483s
15 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.022s +0.797s 1m37.505s
16 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.195s +0.992s 1m37.7s
17 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.16s +1.152s 1m37.86s
18 Stefan Bradl Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.013s +1.165s 1m37.873s
19 Joan Mir Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.043s +1.208s 1m37.916s
20 Enea Bastianini Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.069s +1.277s 1m37.985s
21 Alex Rins LCR Honda CASTROL Honda +0.147s +1.424s 1m38.132s
22 Jonas Folger GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3 KTM +0.566s +1.99s 1m38.698s
23 Augusto Fernandez GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3 KTM +0.23s +2.22s 1m38.928s
24 Iker Lecuona Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.346s +2.566s 1m39.274s
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks