until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


Montoya joins Arrow McLaren SP for 2021 Indy 500

by Matt Beer
2 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya will race for the Arrow McLaren SP team in the 2021 Indianapolis 500.

Montoya – who raced with McLaren in Formula 1 in 2005 and 2006 – famously won the Indy 500 on his debut in 2000 with Chip Ganassi Racing, and won on his third attempt at the event in 2015 with Team Penske.

His last Indy 500 entry came in 2017, before he made the switch to sportscar racing full time.

Fernando Alonso occupied the AMSP team’s third entry in the 2020 Indy 500 but won’t return to the event for the next two years due to his Renault Formula 1 seat.

That left a vacant entry alongside last year’s Indy 500 rookie of the year Patricio O’Ward and its new driver Felix Rosenqvist for the 2021 event.

“I’m very excited to be joining Arrow McLaren SP for the Indianapolis 500,” said Montoya.

“I have some great history with McLaren from my F1 days and I’m looking forward to making some more at next year’s Indianapolis 500.”

Zak Brown, McLaren Racing CEO added: “I’m delighted for Juan to rejoin the McLaren family and return to the Indianapolis 500 with Arrow McLaren SP.

“He is an intensely competitive, highly versatile driver, with deep experience at the top level of motorsport and a big following.

“Having him with us at the 500 next year will be great for the team and IndyCar fans everywhere.”

The Indy 500 is set to take place on May 30 next year.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks