until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League


All you need to know about second MotoGP practice at Le Mans

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
6 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Gresini Ducati rider Enea Bastianini recorded the new MotoGP lap record at the Le Mans Bugatti circuit en route to topping the second practice session of the French Grand Prix weekend.

Key moments:

> Bastianini breaks lap record, then shunts

> Three Ducatis in the top five

> Miller and Mir also among those crashing

Having just had a table-topping 1m31.523s deleted, Bastianini followed it up with a 1m31.148s moments before the chequered flag flew – surpassing Johann Zarco’s 2018 record by just under four hundredths.

He then immediately crashed at the Dunlop chicane, but his lead came under no threat.

Aprilia’s Aleix Espargaro was second, two tenths off Bastianini, while Alex Rins scored third for Suzuki.

Having gotten his entry into Turn 2 wrong, Zarco was sent on a high-speed trip through the gravel that culminated in his Pramac-run Ducati briefly going airborne while crossing the track at the Dunlop chicane. He ultimately avoided crashing and wound up securing fourth place.

Spanish GP winner Francesco Bagnaia and Yamaha’s championship leader Fabio Quartararo completed the top six, ahead of Brad Binder – the lead KTM.

In eighth place, Joan Mir was among the many riders to crash during the session, having dropped his Suzuki on entry to La Musee. VR46 Ducati rookie Marco Bezzecchi and LCR Honda’s Alex Marquez would have similar crashes in the same corner later on.

There were also falls for Luca Marini (VR46 Ducati), Darryn Binder (RNF Yamaha), Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha) and Jack Miller (Ducati).

No Hondas made the top 10, with Pol Esparagro leading the RC213V contingent in 13th, just ahead of Marc Marquez – who tucked the front while trying to follow Bagnaia but stayed on the bike.

Practice 2 Results

Pos Name Team Bike Gap Next Gap Leader Best Time
1 Enea Bastianini Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati 1m31.148s
2 Aleix Espargaró Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.202s +0.202s 1m31.35s
3 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.095s +0.297s 1m31.445s
4 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing Ducati +0.063s +0.36s 1m31.508s
5 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.127s +0.487s 1m31.635s
6 Fabio Quartararo Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.005s +0.492s 1m31.64s
7 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.017s +0.509s 1m31.657s
8 Joan Mir Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +0.009s +0.518s 1m31.666s
9 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing Ducati +0.246s +0.764s 1m31.912s
10 Jack Miller Ducati Lenovo Team Ducati +0.002s +0.766s 1m31.914s
11 Franco Morbidelli Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +0.111s +0.877s 1m32.025s
12 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing Aprilia +0.026s +0.903s 1m32.051s
13 Pol Espargaró Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.025s +0.928s 1m32.076s
14 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda +0.077s +1.005s 1m32.153s
15 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing MotoGP Ducati +0.122s +1.127s 1m32.275s
16 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.039s +1.166s 1m32.314s
17 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing Team Ducati +0.102s +1.268s 1m32.416s
18 Alex Marquez LCR Honda Castrol Honda +0.089s +1.357s 1m32.505s
19 Andrea Dovizioso WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.031s +1.388s 1m32.536s
20 Miguel Oliveira Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.159s +1.547s 1m32.695s
21 Remy Gardner Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.042s +1.589s 1m32.737s
22 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +0.66s +2.249s 1m33.397s
23 Raul Fernandez Tech3 KTM Factory Racing KTM +0.16s +2.409s 1m33.557s
24 Darryn Binder WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team Yamaha +0.004s +2.413s 1m33.561s
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks