until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Formula E

Jaguar to end its I-Pace eTrophy championship

by Matt Beer
2 min read

until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

The Formula E supporting Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy will cease at the end of its second season later this year.

The series had a three-season deal to race on the Formula E bill, but it will be cut short.

Jaguar cited a review of its strategy amid the ongoing Covid-19 crisis as a contributing factor in its decision.

Like Formula E itself, the present I-PACE season was suspended in March. At that point it had held three races across the Riyadh and Mexico City events.

Any remaining events it can hold to conclude its final season are likely to take place in the UK and Germany as Formula E continues to try to form a plan for resuming its 2019/20 campaign.

The Jaguar series was announced at the 2017 Frankfurt Motor Show and was designed to redefine the perception of electric vehicles through its new I-PACE SUV design that went on sale in the spring of 2018 and won numerous awards.

Jaguar Land Rover was also keen to showcase its policy of selling electric options for all its models from this year onwards, and its ‘Destination Zero’ initiative that outlined developing battery electric vehicle technology through electric racing.

However, the I-PACE series struggled to make an impact in the motorsport industry with grids averaging 12 cars in its first campaign, which was won by Team Jaguar Brazil driver Sergio Jimenez.

The series introduced an updated car this season and also mandated an attack mode procedure during its races in effort to mix up the action.

Despite estimations of additional entries for the present campaign, the series kicked-off in Riyadh last November with just 10 entries and teams including Rahal Letterman did not stay for the second season.

James Barclay, Jaguar Racing team director, said that despite some targets being met by the project, the present crisis played a role in the decision to not continue.

“The series has realised many of the targets we set out to achieve,” he said.

“However, during these unprecedented times of the coronavirus pandemic, we have reviewed our strategy and made the decision to withdraw the Jaguar I-PACE eTrophy series after two successful seasons.”

Barclay emphasised that the Jaguar Formula E programme was not in any jeopardy.

“We remain fully committed to electric motorsport and our Jaguar Racing Formula E programme as an important part of our transition to electric mobility and Destination Zero,” he said.

“I’m looking forward to the Formula E and eTrophy seasons resuming if and when it is safe for our team, partners and fans to do so.”

The Jaguar Formula E team currently sits third in the teams’ standings with its Mexico City E-Prix winner Mitch Evans only trailing Antonio Felix da Costa in the drivers’ table.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks