until Abu Dhabi Autonomous Racing League

Formula 1

F1 Esports 2020 line-up completed in Pro Draft

by Nathan Quinn
2 min read

The Pro Draft for the 2020 F1 Esports series has filled the remaining seats in the 30-driver field for this year’s championship.

The drivers available earned their spot in the Pro Draft through either the Challenger Series held last year or through the online play-offs or time trial run on the three different platforms.

A total of 45 drivers were in the Pro Draft, with each team required to pick at least one from it to join their three-driver line-up.

McLaren and Renault chose two drivers from the Pro Draft with the teams picking in reverse order of where they finished in the constructors’ championship last season.

That meant Haas was the first to choose and selected Simon Weigang, who raced for Renault in 2019.

Other notable picks include Canada Pro Exhibition race winner Shanaka Clay who joined Racing Point and 2017 F1 Esports runner-up Fabrizio Donoso who joins World’s Fastest Gamer winner James Baldwin at McLaren.

McLaren Shadow line-up 2020

Tino Naukkarinen, who was released by Williams at the end of 2019, fills the third seat at reigning F1 Esports constructors’ champion Red Bull.

AlphaTauri has retained Manuel Biancolilla despite releasing him back to the Pro Draft pool at the end of last season.

The first of four events in the 2020 Pro Series will take place on October 14 and 15 with the final three races scheduled for December 9 and 10.

2020 F1 Esports Pro Series driver line-ups:

Haas: Floris Weijers, Cedric Thome, Simon Weigang
AlphaTauri: Joni Tormala, Patrik Holzmann, Manuel Biancolilla
Mercedes: Brendon Leigh, Bono Huis, Bardia Boroumand
Racing Point: Lucas Blakeley, Daniele Haddad, Shanaka Clay
McLaren: James Baldwin, Dani Moreno, Matthias Cologon
Williams: Alvaro Carreton, Salih Saltunc, Michael Romanidis
Renault: Nicolas Longuet, Fabrizio Donoso Delgrado, Casper Jansen
Alfa Romeo: Daniel Bereznay, Jarno Opmeer, Dominik Hofmann
Ferrari: David Tonizza, Enzo Bonito, Filip Presnajder
Red Bull: Frederik Rasmussen, Marcel Kiefer, Tino Naukkarinen

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks