Formula 1

Button to contest The Race Legends Trophy

by Matt Beer
2 min read

Jenson Button, the 2009 Formula 1 world champion, will join his former Brawn GP team-mate Rubens Barrichello in the field for The Race Legends Trophy on Saturday.

Button and Barrichello secured the 2019 F1 constructors’ title for Brawn together in 2009 when they combined to win eight of the 17 grands prix, with Button taking the drivers’ championship after a fairytale campaign.

Now Button is trying his hand at esports after taking delivery of his sim kit at his Californian home last week.

His appearance in the Legends Trophy, part of The Race All-Star Series, comes ahead of his participation in the next instalment of F1’s Virtual GP events on Sunday – where he will rejoin his long-time team McLaren alongside Lando Norris.

The Legends Trophy made its debut last weekend, with IndyCar legend Dario Franchitti winning an event run on the Silverstone National circuit.

The Race Legends Trophy

The second running expands to a double-header format in which race two’s grid is the race one finishing order reversed.

Former IndyCar venue NOLA will be used for the event on rFactor 2.

Monaco Grand Prix winner Olivier Panis and fellow ex-F1 racers Mika Salo and Vitantonio Liuzzi are among the other new additions to the field for the second Legends Trophy.

Returnees include double F1 world champion Emerson Fittipaldi, plus fellow Indy 500 winners Juan Pablo Montoya, Gil de Ferran, Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan.

The Legends Trophy shares Saturday’s bill with The Race All-Star Cup – Fully Charged by ROKiT Phones, and it can all be watched live on The Race and our YouTube channel – full schedule in UK time below:

To watch all the action as it unfolds, click here

Timetable, Saturday April 4

17:00 – Broadcast Live
Legends Trophy Race 1
17:15 – 17:20 Qualifying
17:20 – 17:30 Race
Pro Driver Group Race 2
17:35 – 17:40 Qualifying
17:40 – 17:50 Race
Pro Driver Group Race 3
17:55 – 18:00 Qualifying
18:00 – 18:10 Race
Sim Driver Group Race 4
18:15 – 18:20 Qualifying
18:20 – 18:30 Race
Pro Driver LCQ Race 5
18:35 – 18:40 Qualifying
18:40 – 18:50 Race
Legends Trophy Race 6 (Reverse Grid)
18:55 – 19:05 Race
All-Star Esports Battle Race 7
19:10 – 19:15 Qualifying
19:15 – 19:35 Race
19:35 – 19:45 Driver Interviews/Race Review
19:45 – Broadcast Ends

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • More Networks